Part 5 - Being PTA - Reisverslag uit Singapore, Singapore van stefaniewarburton - WaarBenJij.nu Part 5 - Being PTA - Reisverslag uit Singapore, Singapore van stefaniewarburton - WaarBenJij.nu

Part 5 - Being PTA

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

17 November 2015 | Singapore, Singapore

The PTA at school has a slogan: BeInformed, BeInvolved, BeConnected, BePTA.
And I am so PTA!

A list of crazy things I have done in past 2 years...

First year I jumped in immediately, cause that's the only way to do it, by offering to help out organizing the PTA's opening event, the Family Fun Fair. The chair person asked for a short resume to see what skills I had to offer, so I presented her the rather long list of things I had undertaken at ACS, and she instantly bombarded me to Co-Chair.
Clever lady! She knows a sucker that can't say NO to anything when she sees one!

International Fiesta:
I opted out of the pancake making business, but offered to decorate the Dutch stall and created a Dutch Pancake House. This involved cutting out paper windmills and sticking them on white plates, spray painting left over PhotoXL frames orange and finding and printing large Dutch photos. And of course dressing up ;-) But it looked so CUTE!

And later that year Rachael and I took on the Annual charity Gala.
Weird things involved?

I can't count the afternoons that I sneaked out of the house while kids were doing homework, with a bottle of Fat Bird (a decent Sauvignon Blanc under S$ 25) under my arm and ran (well walked rather quickly) over to Rachael's house for a short and sweet venting session!

But... bottom line?
We raised 60.000 dollar for charity and made friends for life!
Did ever mention I love that woman so much?!!


All that amused me so much that first year round, mainly because you do it with other crazy women who gladly sacrifice the grocery shopping for a decent meal for their children that evening over, for example, stuffing 400 plastic gloves with popcorn for a Halloween Nursery game someone thought up...
That I decided to actually join the PTA board the next year.
Job title?
Chief Operations Bitch!
OK, I added the Bitch part. But sounds good, doesn't it?
I was born to do this!! Give me a cape already!!

Back to School Night?
Wouldn't it be fun to hand out free popcorn and a can of soda to all parents? Great idea Stef!
And off you go transporting 4 GIANT bags of popcorn from the American Club to school in what is no longer your big Landrover Discovery, but a normal sized sedan... Maneuvering through the hectic Singapore traffic with a 6 lane roundabout and more U turns than you can possibly imagine, without being able to see in any of your mirrors... Great Idea STEF! Seriously, that was probably one of the scariest (and stupidest) things I ever did in my life!

Then spend 4 nights with your MEGA cool box, logging around ice cubes and soda cans, paper bags, popcorn scoops etc etc.
And voila, there you have it! Another 4 nights of your family eating beans of toast!
Thank God I married an English man who actually thinks beans on toast is a decent meal! Love you, hun!

World Teacher Day?
Why not suggest buying 350 apples and designing/printing 350 stickers, stick them on the apples and put one apple on each teacher's desk??
Great Idea Stef! There goes another Saturday!







Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Singapore, Singapore

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 1484
Totaal aantal bezoekers 8073

Voorgaande reizen:

30 Juni 2009 - 30 November -0001

Keeping in touch with the Dutch

31 Juli 2014 - 30 November -0001

Singapore Slingback Adventures

Landen bezocht: